Who is a Fund Donor?

Any country or organization (including foundations, multinational agencies and non-governmental organizations) that provides funding to support CGIAR programs and activities and the functioning of CGIAR bodies and research institutions through the CGIAR Fund is a Fund donor. Fund donors adhere to the principles set out in the CGIAR Joint Declaration as adopted at the 2009 Business Meeting. While there is no minimum for contributions to the Fund, the minimum contribution required to be eligible for representation in the Fund Council, the decision-making body of the CGIAR Fund, is US$500,000.

The World Bank serves as Trustee for the Fund. The World Bank Board of Directors approved the establishment of the Fund in January 2010.  Fund Donors, as of May 2012, were as follows:

AustraliaBangladeshBill and Melinda Gates Foundation
European CommissionFinlandFrance
New ZealandNigeriaNorway
PortugalRussiaSouth Africa
ThailandTurkeyUnited Kingdom
USAWorld Bank 

Prior Membership

The countries, international organizations and foundations listed below were Members of the CGIAR until December 2009, when the transition to our new governance structure began:


African Development BankIndonesiaPakistan
Arab Fund for Economic and Social DevelopmentInter-American Development BankPeru
AustraliaInternational Development Research Centre (IDRC)Philippines
BangladeshIslamic Republic of IranRockefeller Foundation
BrazilIsraelRussian Federation
CanadaItalySouth Africa
ColombiaKellogg FoundationSweden
European CommissionKenyaSwitzerland
Cote d’IvoireRepublic of KoreaSyngenta Foundation for Sustainable Agriculture
Arab Republic of EgyptMalaysiaTurkey
FAOMoroccoUnited Kingdom
Ford FoundationNetherlandsUNDP
FranceNew ZealandUNEP
GermanyNigeriaUnited States of America
Gulf Cooperation CouncilNorwayWorld Bank
IndiaOPEC Fund for International Development